Crater Lake Series

The Crater Lake Series

Three character-driven novels in the genre of contemporary, literary fiction with a splash of romance. Book One – Disappearing in Plain Sight; Book Two – The Light Never Lies; and Book Three – Chasing Down the Night are set on the northern coast of Vancouver Island in British Columbia, Canada. Readers will encounter characters who quickly become friends and family. Youth conundrums, family dynamics and relationship twists are explored across a diversity of age groups, backgrounds, cultures and sexual orientations. Stereotypes of right and wrong are turned upside down while emotional landscapes are laid bare. Tears are inevitable. And yet, life is shown to be more than problems to be faced. Everyday rural realities often create needed chuckles.

A five-star review of the series says: “The complexity of the characters and the realistic relationships shared between them are what propel this saga forward. Pair that with the beautiful descriptions of the surrounding area and Crater Lake comes alive in magnificent colors much like a rainbow which spreads hope in the darkest times. There is something here for everyone. Love, sex, lust, greed, spirituality, sacrifice, death, murder, life… the list goes on and on. Each book in the series leads you on to a different life lesson much like the lessons you learn within your own family unit.

Disappearing in Plain Sight

Sixteen-year-old Lisa-Marie has been packed off to spend the summer with her aunt on the isolated shores of Crater Lake. She is drawn to Izzy Montgomery, a gifted trauma counsellor who is struggling through personal and professional challenges. Lisa-Marie also befriends Liam Collins, a man who goes quietly about his life trying to deal with his own secrets and guilt. The arrival of a summer renter for Izzy’s guest cabin is the catalyst for change amongst Crater Lake’s tight knit community. People are forced to face the realities of grief and desire to discover that there are no easy choices – only shades of grey.

A five-star review says: “I guarantee that you will enjoy every moment of Disappearing in Plain Sight and that you will find yourself compelled to keep reading until you learn how all of the intriguing twists and turns finally unravel. I know I am anxiously awaiting Guenette’s next novel and after reading Disappearing in Plain Sight you will be as well!”

The Light Never Lies

As circumstances spiral out of control, Lisa-Marie is desperate to return to Crater Lake. The young girl’s resolve is strengthened when she learns that Justin Roberts is headed there for a summer job at the local sawmill. Her sudden appearance causes turmoil. The mere sight of Lisa-Marie upsets the relationship Liam Collins has with trauma counsellor, Izzy Montgomery. All he wants to do is love Izzy, putter in the garden and mind the chickens. Bethany struggles with her own issues as Beulah hits a brick wall in her efforts to keep the organic bakery and her own life running smoothly. A native elder and a young boy who possesses a rare gift show up seeking family. A mystery writer arrives to rent the guest cabin and a former client returns looking for Izzy’s help. Life is never dull for those who live on the secluded shores of Crater Lake. Set against the backdrop of Northern Vancouver Island, The Light Never Lies is a story of heartbreaking need and desperate measures. People grapple with the loss of cherished ideals to discover that love comes through the unique family ties they create as they go.

A five-star review says: “Far from falling into the pitfall of a second installment not being as good as the first, this book is marvelous and emotional, well-crafted and populated with characters that could be friends, family or neighbours.”

Chasing Down the Night

One might be excused for assuming that an idyllic life unfolds for those who have chosen to live and work near the shores of Crater Lake. Nothing could be further from the truth. Long-time resident, Izzy Montgomery juggles the stress of a new job with her burgeoning home life. Family dynamics go into overdrive when Alexander and Cynthia launch plans to build a home nearby and Liam’s sister, Fiona shows up to do an internship with the local doctor. Lisa-Marie and Justin are back for the summer and sparks fly. While crusty, old Reg keeps sawmill production booming, Beulah runs the organic bakery and plans the First Annual Caleb Jenkins Memorial Ball Tournament. Bethany discovers her own hidden talents working with young people at Micah Camp. As a nine-year-old’s dreams reflect a dangerous reality, many encounter issues from the past. This is a novel for all those who work at building family ties by strengthening the traditional and creating the new. Chasing Down the Night explores a wide-ranging emotional landscape while highlighting many aspects of day-to-day, rural life. Tears and laughter are inevitable.

A five-star review says: “An excellent third installment in a highly readable, intelligent and humane series, that I often recommend to friends.”